I Dreamed of a Book

Yesterday was a day I can clearly mark as one of those days a dream came true. My first book, Don’t Let Me Go, occupied some shelf space in Barnes & Noble. I saw it with my own eyes. There were two copies there, alphabetized in the “P” section (because my last name is Pierce). Four-hundred pages combined, only half the size of a Stephen King novel, one full inch of spines–but occupying space all the same. Inside that small space is three years worth of adventures climbing mountains and running in marathons with my daughter. Inside that small space is 21 years, 42 weeks, and one day of dreaming. You see, that’s how long ago I sold my first short story and had an idea: I should write a book! I didn’t think it would take that long. The main thing is that I didn’t give up. My son, Zachary, was with me at the bookstore. He’s 19 and wasn’t even born when I started dreaming. But he’s come to own the dream with me over the years, so has my daughter, Chera, and my wife, Chonda. Zach threw an arm around me and we struck a silly pose there in the aisle, pointing to the books tucked away there between the “history” and the “inspirational” sections while Chonda took a picture. Then Chonda lifted the only two copies and boldly placed them at eye-level on the end of the shelf where it’s easier to see, just beneath the “Hot New Releases” placard. Because when a dream comes true you just gotta shout it out.

~ by dwpierce1 on March 18, 2009.

2 Responses to “I Dreamed of a Book”

  1. I’m so excited for you! I can’t wait to read this book. I have “Salvage” and several of Chonda’s books too. What an amazing family you have – you’re so “real” and share with us all your life and I appreciate y’all so much! Dreams do come true – praise the Lord!

  2. I couldn’t be more happy for you, David. This is only the beginning!

Leave a Reply

 
